Islam Beliefs

What is the meaning of Islam?

Islam basically is a religion which lays down its foundation on the belief that there is one supreme entity control the entire universe and we will be answerable to that entity after we die. It basically means submission and surrender. Further explaining this, the basic teachings of Islam tell people to base every action they do to please the Almighty. Whether it is a good deed or something one does in their daily routine, one must do it by the purity of their heart and everything must be done with a good and pure intention.


Islam is the second largest religion in the entire world and almost 24 percent of the world population is the followers of Islam. These followers are commonly known as Muslims. Another fact about Islam is that it is an Abrahamic Monotheistic religion and the basic teachings of it are that there is only one God and Prophet Muhammad is the messenger of God. Further teachings of Islam basically tell people that God is unique, merciful and is the supreme power and nothing can happen or occur without His will. The Holy book of Muslims is the Quran which has all the teachings linked to the religion which are also further explained and narrated by many well-educated scholars which clarify the teachings mentioned. The Quran is made out of many scriptures which were collected by the Companions of Muhammad which he bestowed his wisdom upon them.

Islam also has specific regulations regarding each topic be it politics, economics, family, forbidden things or any other subject which one can come across in their daily lives. These teachings are designed in such a way that no party suffers from any loss and so that every system can run smoothly. The teachings are known to be universal which means that they will be relevant at any time or era no matter how old they are they will still apply.

The Five Pillars of Islam

There are some things which are compulsory for every Muslim and in case that these are not followed, the basic belief tells them that they will be penalized for their actions as there is a concept of life after death in regards to the concept of heaven and hell.

The five pillars of Islam are:

  • Shahada: Faith
  • Salah: Prayer
  • Zakat: Charity
  • Sawm: Fasting
  • Hajj: Pilgrimage

These five pillars of Islam are what the religion stands on. Each person will only be a true Muslim if he or she will oblige by these. It is important to note that failure of even one of them is not allowed in Islam and the belief says that Muslims will be penalized if they do not follow these.

Hagia Sofia - Istanbul

When talking about faith it basically means to truly believe that there is only one God and Muhammad is His messenger. Prayer is what is offered by Muslims five times a day and is obligatory. Charity in the five pillars is specified as a fraction of one’s income only for those who can afford it and give it to someone who is needy. Fasting is basically done in the Holy month of Ramadan for 29-30 days which lasts from dawn to sunset which has many benefits linked to it and also is a very prestigious form of prayer in the Islamic belief system. Lastly, Pilgrimage as also many benefits linked to it and is carried out in the remembrance of the Holy Prophets journey.

Moving on further, there are many rights given to women and there is a very high rank given to them. Islam greatly stresses upon justice and morality as well due to which there are moral regulations to follow even when on war, for example, killing of children, women and even trees is not allowed so that the war is completely fair. Moral ethics and modesty are given great importance as well.